Ian Robottom, Rob and Sarah’s Wedding.

A very lovely note from Ian following our work for Rob and Sarah’s Wedding.

It was around a year ago when Rob asked me to be one of his best men for his wedding to Sarah.   Of course I was delighted, but soon realized that in addition to the usual best man duties (speech, drinking, more drinking etc) that as myself and Rob had for years put events on, that this was going to be one evening doo that would have to impress.

Now, of course I could only be partly involved on the day and Rob could not be involved at all.  This was a major dilemma. As this had to be an event to impress, I was not happy to trust it to just anyone – I needed to be involved, but also could not be hands on.   

 This is when the obvious choice of Liam came to mind.  I had first worked with Liam at an Oxjam evening in Leicester where I was provided an outdoor PA.  Oxjam had, in the past, provided me staff to assist – All were keen, but technically useless.    In 2011 Liam was working as a volunteer, someone who not only was technically brilliant but understood event management and nothing appeared to faze him.  The Oxjam outdoor stage was a massive success that year, mainly down to Liam.

 Liam also assisted me at a ‘Roughshod’ event in Leicester – Again, just picking up work which needed to be done with no fuss and making my lighting look better that I had ever managed myself.

 So with all this in mind I put the call in to Liam to see if he was happy to design, source, manage, install and run a wedding evening doo the likes Leicester would not have seen before.  Liam was up for the challenge.  A few meetings were set up, a budget set and Liam, as always, just got on with the work with no fuss and a level of professionalism way beyond his years.

 Detailed plans for the lighting were produced, programming undertaken, detailed inventory and contracts for the hire companies completed and we were all set for the event. 

As with all events – Not everything will run exactly how you expect.  How you deal with the challenges shows the experience and professionalism of the team.

 There were a few ‘misunderstandings’ with the venue relating to clear down times.  These could have cause major issues.  However, with a few calls to the hire companies, collection times were re-booked and what could have been issues were avoided.   Many thanks to the hire companies for their flexibility.

 The wedding was a massive success.  The lighting was simply stunning.  I was able to enjoy the wedding knowing that the team in place was the best I had ever worked in.  The set-up, operation and pack down were slick, showing the importance of planning. 

I cannot thank Liam and Sarah-Jo enough for their hard work and dedication to this event.  I never doubted they could do it.  What they actually delivered far exceeded my expectations – The original spec of delivering a wedding night event to blow away all others, was achieved and then some. 

And the best bit?  I could relax, drink and carry out my best man duties knowing that I had the best of the best taking care of the event.

The next event?  Not sure, but I know who I will call first when I have something planned.

– Ian Robottom, Best Man / Production Manager, Rob and Sarah’s Wedding

One thought on “Ian Robottom, Rob and Sarah’s Wedding.

  1. Pingback: Catching Up | Liam Singh

Comments are closed.