Season’s Greetings!

Hello, friends.

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas. I’ve had a thrilling time back at home, with my family, enjoying Rory’s first Christmas with my three sisters, my Granddad and my parents.

 And of course, Sarah Jo, who bought me stripy boxers and socks. I bought her a packet of crisps. We’re a great little couple.

It’s very strange being back in Leicester – I spent some time in town today shopping for a new coat in the sales and even in the short time I’ve been in Liverpool the shopping centre has changed a fair bit. I did get a new coat, from Debenhams. and a Ryanair-approved suitcase for day trips to Kerry – or week trips, like I’ve just returned from.

The Kingdom was very wet, as per, so Granddad had me doing all manner of little jobs inside the house including re-routing the Internet cabling and painting the ceiling in one of the bathrooms. Of course, the usual breaks to Lidl and the pub were as regular as the doctor prescribed. The week in Ireland has inspired a new rant about free WiFi, and why it should be provided in pubs, cafés etc – coming soon folks.

I’m spending New Years Eve at Hannah’s – as is the norm, and is only right. I’m looking forward to this, and welcoming in a new year with Sarah and my old friends. Then we’re back up to Liverpool just over a week later for the little matter of Sarah’s LIPA audition and, more importantly, the release of Les Miserables. Tomorrow is Leicester Critical Mass’ final meeting of the year, which I’m attending with Granddad in tow. It’s going to be a busy few days and I’m certainly looking forward to being back in the North.

Finally, congratulations to Bradley Wiggins, who won BBC Sports Personality of the Year last weekend. Along with other nominees Sarah Storey and Sir Chris Hoy, Wiggo represented a sport and indeed a way of life which continues to blossom in the UK, with the only way being up for British Cycling.

Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and all the rest of it. Best wishes to you and your families, and I’m looking forward to 2013.

